2012 NRL All Stars squad announced

Get in now folks… you have until the 18th of Jan to get your votes in to select your favourite NRL players for their place in the 2012 Harvey Norman Rugby League All Stars match, on February 4.

Over 13,000 fans voted in Stage One to determine the 64-man list, now it’s up to you to cut that to 16, with only one player from each club eligible.

The top 10 voted players in Stage One of voting for the NRL All Stars are:



Jack Reed

Brisbane Broncos

Josh Morris

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

Paul Gallen

Cronulla Sharks

Josh Dugan

Canberra Raiders

Cooper Cronk

Melbourne Storm

Jarryd Hayne

Parramatta Eels

Luke Lewis

Penrith Panthers

Nathan Hindmarsh

Parramatta Eels

Fuifui Moimoi

Parramatta Eels

Petero Civoniceva

Brisbane Broncos

With Stage One of the NRL All Stars public selection process now complete, Bennett has assigned the following positions to the 64 shortlisted players and has asked fans to consider his guide below.

Backs have been divided into three separate groups:
- Fullback – Specialist role
- Outside Back – Includes centres and wings
- Inside Back – A player who can play five-eighth or halfback

Forwards have also been divided into three categories:
- Tight Forwards – A player who plays front-row and also second-row
- Edge Forwards – A second-rower or lock that can play on both the right and left side edge of a team’s attack and defence
- Hooker – Specialist role

Bennett wants at least three tight forwards in the starting line-up.

Bennett is also asking the fans to consider:
- Players marked as utility players have been designated on the basis of their ability to cover multiple positions
- The seven-man bench will require:
- two Tight Forwards
- one Edge Forward
- one Inside Back
- one Outside Back
- two Utilities

Two players on the seven-man bench will be selected by Bennett at the completion of Stage Two voting.

Club Forward / Back Bennett’s Positioning Guide to fans
Brisbane Broncos
Petero Civoniceva Forward Tight Forward
Corey Parker Forward Edge Forward, Tight Forward
Jack Reed Back Outside Back
Gerard Beale Back Outside Back


Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Frank Pritchard Forward Tight Forward
Michael Ennis Forward Hooker
Josh Morris Back Outside Back
Steve Turner Back Outside Back


Canberra Raiders
David Shillington Forward Tight Forward
Shaun Fensom Forward Edge Forward
Josh Dugan Back Outside Back
Terry Campese Back Inside Back


Cronulla Sharks
Paul Gallen Forward Tight Forward
Jeremy Smith Forward Tight Forward, Edge Forward
Todd Carney Back Inside Back
Nathan Gardner Back Outside Back


Gold Coast Titans
Nate Myles Forward Tight Forward
Luke Bailey Forward Tight Forward
David Mead Back Outside Back
William Zillman Back Outside Back


Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
Tony Williams Forward Edge Forward
Glenn Stewart Forward Edge Forward
Kieran Foran Back Inside Back
Daly Cherry-Evans Back Inside Back


Melbourne Storm
Sika Manu Forward Edge Forward
Kevin Proctor Forward Edge Forward
Cooper Cronk Back Inside Back
Gareth Widdop Back Outside Back


Newcastle Knights
Kade Snowden Forward Tight Forward
Neville Costigan Forward Tight Forward, Edge Forward
Junior Sa’u Back Outside Back
Jarrod Mullen Back Inside Back


North Queensland Cowboys
Dallas Johnson Forward Edge Forward
Matthew Scott Forward Tight Forward
Brent Tate Back Outside Back
Kalifa Faifai Loa Back Outside Back


Parramatta Eels
Nathan Hindmarsh Forward Tight Forward
Fuifui Moimoi Forward Tight Forward
Jarryd Hayne Back Outside Back
Luke Burt Back Outside Back


Penrith Panthers
Luke Lewis Forward Utility Player
Sam McKendry Forward Tight Forward
Michael Jennings Back Outside Back
Michael Gordon Back Outside Back 
St George Illawarra Dragons
Ben Creagh Forward Edge Forward
Michael Weyman Forward Tight Forward
Jason Nightingale Back Outside Back
Matt Cooper Back Outside Back 
South Sydney Rabbitohs
Sam Burgess Forward Edge Forward, Tight Forward
David Taylor Forward Edge Forward
Matthew King Back Outside Back
John Sutton Back Inside Back 
Sydney Roosters
Jared Waerea-Hargreaves Forward Tight Forward
Braith Anasta Forward Edge Forward
Anthony Minichiello Back Outside Back
Mitchell Pearce Back Inside Back


Feleti Mateo Forward Edge Forward
Simon Mannering Forward Utility Player
Manu Vatuvei Back Outside Back
Shaun Johnson Back Inside Back


Wests Tigers
Gareth Ellis Forward Edge Forward
Adam Blair Forward Tight Forward
Chris Lawrence Back Outside Back
Beau Ryan Back Outside Back

The Indigenous All Stars team is as follows:

Johnathan Thurston (c), Ben Barba, Jharal Yow Yeh, Greg Inglis, Justin Hodges, Nathan Merritt, Chris Sandow, Tom Learoyd-Lahrs, Travis Waddell, George Rose, Sam Thaiday, Jamal Idris, Greg Bird, Andrew Fifita, Cory Paterson, Matthew Bowden, Scott Prince, Anthony Mitchell, Joel Thompson and Nathan Peats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Get a free bet from one of our partners Get free bet